Unstable Unicorns: The Rules You Should Know

Unstable unicorns is a hugely popular card game which lets you build an army of unicorns and use them to destroy your opponents.

This game is super fun to play but the rules aren’t the clearest to understand.

Let’s take a look at some of the rules that you should know before playing your first game of Unstable Unicorns.

 

How do you get a unicorn in your stable?

 

When you begin your turn you will enter the draw phase which will allow you to draw a card from the deck. Once the first phase has been completed you will then enter the second phase.

The second phase is called the action phase. You can use the action phase to place a unicorn from your hand into your stable. You can only put one unicorn into your stable per turn, unless you have an effect can that says otherwise. 

 

Can you neigh a ginormous unicorn?

 

Yes you can neigh a ginormous unicorn that is being played from a players hand. The only time that you cannot neigh a ginormous unicorn is if it is already in a stable. 

In another scenario, if you want to play a ginormous unicorn but it is neighed by another player, you are still able to neigh their neigh as the unicorn hasn’t yet reached the stable. 

 

Does the ginormous unicorn count as two cards?

 

Yes, the ginormous unicorn counts as two unicorns in your stable. In the original version of the game, anyone who has a ginormous unicorn in their stable cannot play any action cards.

In the second edition of the game anyone that has a ginormous unicorn in their stable cannot play a neigh or super neigh card.

 

Can you neigh a unicorn card?

 

Yes you can neigh a unicorn card being played from a players hand. Neighing a unicorn card will result in the unicorn card not entering a stable and instead it is placed on the discard pile. 

You cannot neigh a unicorn that is already in a stable.

 

Check the price of Unstable Unicorns here.

 

Can you neigh a neigh in unstable unicorns?

 

Yes you can neigh a neigh in unstable unicorns, however you cannot neigh a super neigh.

For example, if Player 1 plays an action card then player 2 plays a neigh card, player 1 is able to neigh this neigh and the original action card would be back in play. 

 

Can you neigh the slowdown card in unstable unicorns?

 

Yes a slowdown card can be neighed as soon as it is played, this will send the slowdown card to the discard pile.

If no-one neighs the slowdown card downgrade before it is placed in a stable then it cannot be neighed. A slowdown card cannot be neighed whilst in a stable. 

 

Read More: Unstable Unicorns The Facts You Need To Know

 

Can you destroy a downgrade card in unstable unicorns?

 

Yes you can destroy a downgrade card in unstable unicorns however destroying a card refers to removing cards from your opponents stable and placing them in the discard pile.

When tactically playing, you would not want to destroy an opponents downgrade cards from their stable. 

 

Can you sacrifice a downgrade card in unstable unicorns?

 

Yes you can sacrifice a downgrade card in unstable unicorns. Sacrificing a card refers to a player removing one of their cards from their stable and placing it in the discard pile.

This is a great way for you to get rid of unwanted downgrade cards in your stable

 

Can glitterbomb sacrifice downgrade?

 

Yes a glitterbomb can be used to sacrifice a downgrade. If a glitterbomb upgrade card is in your stable then this gives the player the power to sacrifice a card and destroy a card. You are able to sacrifice any card in your stable including downgrade cards and then go on to destroy any card from an opponents stable.

The glitterbomb card is a great use for getting rid of downgrade cards that you don’t want and also getting rid of cards that you don’t want your opponents to have. 

 

Can you sacrifice a baby unicorn?

 

Yes you can sacrifice a baby unicorn however there is a slight difference. When a baby unicorn is sacrificed it must be returned to the nursery instead of the discard pile. 

 

Can you neigh a yay?

 

You can only neigh a yay whilst it is being played from a players hand. If the yay card is already in a stable then it cannot be neighed. If a yay card is neighed whilst being played from a players hand then this card must be placed in the discard pile. 

 

What happens when you run out of cards in your hand in unstable unicorns?

 

If you run out of cards in your hand then you are not out of the game. You can simply keep playing and wait until your next turn to draw a card from the deck. 

If you run out of draw cards this can lead to one of two scenarios depending on how you want to play:

  1. The game ends and no-one wins.
  2. The discard pile is shuffled and put back into the draw pile.

 

Does a super neigh override a yay?

 

A super neigh will override a yay that is being played from a persons hand however if the yay is already in the persons stable then the super neigh card is not able to be used.

You cannot use any neigh card against a yay card that is already in a stable.

 

Can you super neigh a super neigh?

 

Unfortunately no, you cannot super neigh another super neigh card. Neither can you neigh a super neigh.

The super neigh card is a great way to stop neigh cards from stacking. 

 

Can you super neigh a unicorn card?

 

Yes you can super neigh a unicorn card being played from a players hand. Super neighing a unicorn card will result in the unicorn card not entering a stable and instead it is placed on the discard pile. 

You cannot super neigh a unicorn that is already in a stable.

 

Read More: Exploding Kittens: Rules you need to know 

 

What does the puppicorn card do?

 

If a puppicorn card is in a players stable, each time the next player begins their turn the puppicorn card moves into that players stable. The puppicorn can therefore let a player win outside of a phase. 

For example if player 1 has the puppicorn card in their stable and player 2 already has 6 unicorns in their stable, when player 2’s turn begins the puppicorn card would move into player 2’s stable and player two would win as they have the maximum number of unicorns in their stable to win

 

Can you win with a tiny stable?

 

A tiny stable downgrade card only allows a player to have a maximum of 5 unicorns in their stable at one time which prevents that player from collecting enough unicorns in their stable to win. 

The only way a player can win with a tiny stable is if they have a dragons blessing card in their stable. As long as Dragons blessing card is in your stable downgrade cards have no effect. 

 

Can you win with pandamonium in your stable?

 

No you cannot win with a pandamonium in your stable. A pandamonium downgrade card will turn all of the unicorns in a players stable into pandas. You can only win the game with the correct number of unicorns in your stable.

In order to win the game, a player must find a way to remove the pandamonium card from their stable which will turn the pandas back into unicorns.

 

Does pandamonium affect unicorn abilities?

 

Pandamonium does not effect unicorn abilities so even though a players unicorns are now pandas they can still use their powers. With the exception of a card that states that you must sacrifice a unicorn card, you cannot to this as you have pandas in your stable and not unicorns. 

 

How many upgrade cards can you have in your stable?

 

There is no limit to how many upgrade and downgrade cards that a player is allowed in a stable at one time

 

Can you neigh stabby the unicorn? 

 

You can neigh a stabby the unicorn card that is being played from a players hand however once stabby the unicorn is in a stable he cannot be neighed. 

If stabby the unicorn is already in a players stable and is sacrificed or destroyed this gives the player the power to destroy another players unicorn from their stable. This action cannot be neighed or super neighed.

 

What does the broken stable card do in unstable unicorns?

 

If the broken stable card is placed in a stable this stops the player from playing upgrade cards. Therefore the player cannot add upgrade cards to their stable and benefit from from them.

This does not effect or stop a player from activating any upgrade cards that were already in their stable before the broken stable card was placed in their stable. 

 

Unstable unicorns can you neigh an upgrade?

 

A player is allowed to neigh an upgrade when it is being played from a players hand. If the upgrade card is already in the stable then the upgrade card or it’s effects cannot be neighed. 

 

Can you play two of the same upgrade cards in unstable unicorns?

 

You cannot play two of the same upgrade cards in a single turn. However you are able to place more than one of the same upgrade card in the same stable over multiple turns.

If a player has more that one of the same upgrade card in their stable then the effect of the card will be doubled, tripled etc depending of how many duplicates that they have in their stable.

 

How long do upgrade cards last in unstable unicorns? 

 

Upgrade effects are continuous so as long as the upgrade card remains in the players stable it’s effects will happen every turn the player has. An upgrade card will remain in a players stable until it is either sacrificed or destroyed. 

 

Do upgrade cards count as your stable?

 

Upgrade cards do not count as your stable, the aim of the game is to collect enough unicorns in your stable in order to win. Upgrade cards do not count towards this number.

There is no limit to how many upgrade and downgrade cards that are allowed in your stable at one time. 

 

Conclusion 

 

Unstable unicorns is a really fun tactical game, it takes a while to understand the rules but once you have played a couple of times then they are much easier to follow.

If you have any more questions please let me know in the comments!